Madam Butterfly (Holding Image).jpg

Madam Butterfly

PUCCINI

Olivier Award-winning OperaUpClose in association with the Belgrade Theatre in Coventry presents a new English version of Puccini's Madam Butterfly.

A young woman abandoned by the man for whom she sacrificed everything. But she is stronger than anyone imagined…

Retold from a female, East-Asian perspective, this Madam Butterfly is transposed to 1980s Japan, where traditional culture collides with a new digital age, and the intimate exploration into the heart and mind of a young woman, is all the more poignant.

One of the best-loved operas of all time, Puccini's sublime music has been re-orchestrated to be performed by a diverse-led cast of eight singers, accompanied by four live musicians.

New orchestration by Ruth Chan
New English version by Poppy Burton-Morgan

#OUCButterfly @OperaUpClose

DATES

Thu 6 Feb
Belgrade Theatre, Coventry
Book Here

Sat 8 Feb
Palace Theatre, Newark
Booking Soon

Wed 12 Feb
artsdepot, London
Book Here

Fri 14 & Sat 15 Feb
Bristol Old Vic
Booking Soon

Mon 17 Feb
Oxford Playhouse
Book Here

Tue 18 Feb
Stratford Circus, London
Booking Soon

Fri 21 Feb
Derby Theatre
Booking Soon

Thu 27 Feb
Theatre Royal Wakefield
Book Here

Sat 29 Feb
Worthing Theatres
Book Here

Thu 5 Mar
Theatre Royal Winchester
Booking Soon

Fri 6 Mar
Watersmeet, Rickmansworth
Book Here

Wed 11 Mar
Nuffield Theatres, Southampton
Book Here

Fri 13 & Sat 14 Mar
Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough
Book Here

Mon 16 Mar
Exeter Northcott Theatre
Booking Soon